Certification Path for Information Security Professionals

A big hello to budding Information security professionals. Many of you must be pondering about Information security-related certifications which can help you build a strong foundation or looking for a differentiator edge in this fast-moving industry. Well, In this blog Certification Path for Information Security Professionals I have tried answering these questions by highlighting the path that you should follow:


Step 1: Setting the foundation

The better and deeper you understand the computer networks, the more mature and adept the Information security professional you become. CCNA certification would be your first step from setting the foundation perspective followed by Security+ Certification. Below is a brief detail about the same:

CCNA gives you the foundation you need to take your career in Information Security. CCNA certification covers a breadth of topics, including

For more information on CCNA, please refer to this link

2. Security+
Security+ helps you build the fundamentals around core Information security, it is miles wide and an inch deep. Perfectly suited for professionals starting their career in Infosec. The Security+ exam includes the following domains and topics:

For more information, please refer to this link

Step 2: Strengthening the foundation

The next step is to strengthen your foundation built on Network and Information security fundamentals, you would need to add skills related to Information security Compliance and Standards.

3. ISO27001 Lead implementer certification
ISO27001 Lead implementer certification would help you do the same. Please remember ISO27001 is the mother of all Information and Cyber Security related frameworks including NIST CSF.

In the program you will learn about:

For more information, please refer to this link

Step 3: Attain greater Heights

As of now you have built your fundamentals and have also enriched your skills in the field of Computer Networks, Information Security, and Information security Compliance. The next phase is to have a quantum jump and attain greater heights. CISSP and CISA certification will help you achieve the same.

CISSP is one of the most prestigious and valued certifications in the field of Information Security. It is highly valued, and you can be proud of this achievement. The CISSP exam covers the below domain and helps you master the Information security:

  1. Introduction to Security and Risk Management
  2. Asset Security
  3. Security Architecture and Engineering
  4. Communication and Network Security
  5. Identity and Access Management (IAM)
  6. Security Assessment and Testing
  7. Security Operations
  8. Software Development Security

For more information, please refer to this link

CISA can showcase your expertise and assert your ability to apply a risk-based approach to planning, executing, and reporting on Information security-related audit engagements. It will also help gain instant credibility in your interactions with internal stakeholders, regulators, external auditors, and customers.

CISA exam covers below domains:

For more information, please refer to this link


In this post, I have explained what are the certifications that budding Information Security Professionals should focus on, with this we will take a pause and will meet again with a view around Cloud Security-related certifications. All the Best. Happy Reading!

You can also refer to this article on How to Become a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

For any further questions related to these certifications, please feel free to get in touch here